{{getMsg('Help_YouAreHere')}}: {{page.title}} {{page.title}}

{{$root.getMsg("downLoadHelpAsPdf")}} {{helpModel.downloadHelpPdfDataStatus}}

Users and Groups

The Users and Groups application is vital for the configuration of permissions and personal settings of users. It consists of two main areas:

In addition to these areas there is the search bar and action button to create new users or groups. Creating new users and groups is always possible using the Users and Groups application, even though it might be deactivated for other areas in i-net Clear Reports by the login configuration setting.

Figure 1: Overview of the Users and Groups Manager

Users and Groups List

The list will contain up to 5000 users or groups - depending on the selection and filters used. You can switch the scope with the upper selection to filter for:

  • All users and groups
  • Specific Users - eg. Master User, Guests, i-net Clear Reports Users, Deactivated Users
  • Specific groups - eg. Administrator Groups, i-net Clear Reports Groups, Authentication Groups

The list below the selection will then be filtered accordingly in a strictly alphabetic order of the display names. It is grouped by the different group- and user types.

Plugins, such as System Authentication and Product Authentication provide i-net Clear Reports Users which are a common type of users in the system. Authentication plugins can also provide Authentication Groups which are a special type. They can be created using the Create New button, but they can not have users assigned directly. Authentication Groups have their user assigned in the respective plugins login mechanism.

Note: Only group names known through users who are already authenticated can automatically be suggested when creating a new Authentication Group. As of yet unknown groups can be added and configured as well.

Predefined users and groups

The following predefined users and groups are available:

  • Group: All Users
  • Group: Administrators
  • User: Master

The Master user will be created when the master login is used for the first time. This user always has all permissions and can not be deleted or modified. See Master Password for additional information.

The Administrators group is always available and also has all permissions. Users can be assigned to this group to grant them full access permissions to the i-net Clear Reports server.

The All Users group enables you to set default permissions for every single user in the system.

If there are too many entries in the users and groups list to find a specific one, it may need to be filtered down. Additional filters can be entered using the search bar. This allows you to search for users and groups using specific properties, e.g. First Name, Last Name ...

See Global Search Bar for additional information.

User and Group Details

When no user or group is selected, statistics will be displayed in the detail area. There are buttons to create new users and groups.

When a user or group is selected in the list, detail information is displayed. The header area contains information specific to the selected subject. Quick actions are available through the upper right menu in the header area. For users these are usually: Set Blocking Notice, Deactivate, Delete and Show stored user data.

Figure 2: Details of a user

The content area also contains information specific to the selected item. It consists of grouped information elements that can usually be edited. Additional plugins can extend this information.

User details

  • Master Data contains the first name, last name and email address of the user
  • Logins contains a list of logins the user has assigned to the account
  • Groups contains a list of groups assigned to the account
  • Permissions contains a list of assigned permissions. Permissions have to be enabled to show this section.

Set/Edit/Remove Blocking Notice

According to privacy regulations, it is possible to block a user from being deletable and editable. A user's blocking notice can be set, edited or removed from the option menu on the upper right of the user detail area. A user who has a blocking notice set will be treated as deactivated. That means that the user can only be deleted permanently after the blocking notice is removed.

Removing the blocking notice additionally gives the options to reactivate the user. Otherwise the user will be in a deactivated state.

Figure 3: Setting a blocking notice
Figure 4: Removing a blocking notice

Stored User Data

The menu option to Show stored user data generates an overview of all the data stored for the selected user. Individual users can request their own data takeout from the account tab.

This way a user can know how much and which data i-net Clear Reports collected.

Note: there may be some internal information that is not displayed in the stored user data page. This information is part of the Event Log for the Administrator of the server.

Group details

  • General contains the groups name
  • Memberships contains the users assigned as members to the group
  • Permissions contains a list of assigned permissions. Permissions have to be enabled to show this section.

Editing User and Group Details

Editing details of a user or group can be done in a dialog which opens after clicking the edit button on the grouped element in the content area.

The edit dialog consists of multiple tabs, one per grouped element.

Most settings are self-explanatory. For more information about complex settings, please check the links from the User details section.

 
This application uses cookies to allow login. By continuing to use this application, you agree to the use of cookies.